Site Map Icon
RSS Feed icon
October 01, 2020
<< October 2020 >>
1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31
Upcoming Events
Columbus Day
Oct 12, 2020
Veterans Day
Nov 11, 2020
Thanksgiving Day
Nov 26, 2020
Christmas Day - Office Closed
Dec 25, 2020
New Year's Day - Holiday
Jan 01, 2021

Local 122 Member Blog

Important Links
International Brotherhood of Teamsters
Teamsters Joint Council #10
Massachusetts AFL-CIO
Greater Boston Labor Council
Massachusetts Jobs With Justice
Officers & Staff
John Murphy

John F. Murphy was born in 1948 in Massachusetts of Irish immigrant parents. He attended Catholic elementary and secondary schools.

On the college level, John Murphy continued his education at Boston State College from 1967 — 1969 and received a degree in Paralegal Studies from Bentley College in 1979.

John Murphy became a Teamster in 1969 when he was employed at a Boston beer distributorship. John Murphy served as shop steward there before being appointed an assistant business representative for Teamsters Local 122 in 1980 and thereafter held various positions on its Executive Board.

In 1985, Murphy was elected to the principal officer’s position (Secretary-Treasurer) of Teamsters Local 122. He has been re-elected every term since then to that position. In 1995, John Murphy was elected Vice President of the Massachusetts AFL/CIO and still holds that position. In 1998, he was elected Vice President of the Eastern Region of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters as part of James P. Hoffa’s slate. During General President Hoffa’ s first term, Murphy served as Director of Organizing. He is now Special Assistant to the General President for Special Projects as well as Vice President. The Special Projects position started his involvement in the merger process between the International Brotherhood of Teamsters, the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and the Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees. In March, 2005, he was appointed Director of the Teamsters Rail Conference. Mr. Murphy was re-elected for the fifth time, this time as Vice President At-Large of the IBT in November 2016.

Virginia Barnes

Virginia Barnes was elected President in 2016.  Prior to becoming President she served as Recording Secretary of Teamsters Local 122 for four consecutive terms and has sat as a member of the Contract Negotiating Committee for the Boston Housing Authority since 1992.

A union member for more than 30 years Ms. Barnes is actively involved in the Teamsters Union.  She currently serves as the Teamsters National Black Caucus Recording Secretary/Coordinator; she is an original member of the International Teamsters Women’s Conference Planning Committee; served as a Delegate to the Change to Win Conventions in 2005 and 2007.  In her position as Benefits Manager at the Boston Housing Authority she has earned the reputation of a compassionate leader and mentor to members of Local 122.

Vice President
John Shea

John Shea has been a Local 122 member since 1988. He’s currently serving his forth term as Vice-President for the Local and previously held the office of Trustee.  John is a Union activist and, as such, has traveled across the USA in support of Labor Union battles.

Recording Secretary
Christopher O'Leary

Chris has been a member of Local 122 since 2000. He also serves as the Principal Shop Steward at Martignetti Companies in Norwood. This is Chris' second term elected as Trustee.

Payton Corbett

Payton has been a member of Local 122 since 2006.  He has served as a bargaining committee representative and is a shop steward at A. A. Busch & Co.  Payton is actively involved in Union solidarity efforts and community affairs.  He is in his first term on the Executive Board.  

Christine Hansen

Chris has been a member of Local 122 since 1980 at eh Boston Housing Authority.  She has served on three bargaining committees since 2004 and has been a shop steward since 2012.  Chris was appointed to the Executive Board in September 2017.

Timothy Lawler

Tim has been a member of Local 122 since 1998.  He has served as a bargaining committee representative since 2003 and the Local Union’s principal shop steward at Charles Gilman & Sons since 2012.  Tim was appointed to the Executive Board in December 2017.

Member Login


Not registered yet?
Click Here to sign-up

Forgot Your Login?

IBT Constitution 

Local 122 Bylaws

Teamsters Local 122
Copyright © 2020, All Rights Reserved.
Powered By UnionActive™

175679 hits since Aug 14, 2008

Top of Page image